Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Rotary attack
Status: Current
Aircraft: Rooivalk

16 Squadron

"Hlaselani" (Attack)
About this Squadron

Like 15 Squadron, 16 Squadron was formed at Germiston on 14 September 1939 and transferred to Walvis Bay a week later to perform maritime patrols with three ex-SAA Junkers Ju-86Z's. In December that same year the squadron became B Flight of 32 Squadron.

The squadron reappeared on 1 May 1941 at Addis Ababa, once again flying the Junkers Ju-86, but again disbanded in August 1941 when the Italian forces surrendered. The squadron was reformed in September 1942 when 20 Squadron, taking part in the invasion of Madagascar, was renumbered. Aircraft consisted of Marylands and Beauforts. After the Madagascan campaign, the squadron moved to Kenya and converted to Blenheim Vs for use in the maritime role. In April 1943 the squadron moved to Egypt for anti-submarine duties and in November was equipped with the Beaufighter. The squadron disbanded for the third time on 15 June 1945.

On 1 February 1968 the squadron was reformed at AFB Ysterplaat flying Alouette IIIs, but moved to Durban a year later. In mid-1972 the squadron moved to Bloemfontein, with A Flight moving to Port Elizabeth in 1973, while A Flight later transferred from Bloemfontein to Ysterplaat. During December 1980 B Flight moved to Port Elizabeth to join A Flight and in 1986 Pumas joined the Alouette IIIs. The squadron was disbanded in October 1990.

On 28 October 1999 the squadron was reactivated at AFB Bloemspruit to as an attack helicopter squadron, equipped with the new Rooivalk. The squadron is not expected to reach full operational readiness until 2008.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Bloemspruit:
106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 87 Helicopter Flying School

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre