Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Security services
Status: Current
Based at: Other

SAAF Police

"Pro Iure Et Justitia"
About this Squadron

The functions of the SA Air Force Police are:

  • Maintenance of law, order and discipline
  • Prevention of of crime.
  • Investigation of crime.

A requirement for an own police force within the SA Air Force was determined in 1974 and the first Senior Staff Officer of the SA Air Force Police was appointed on 14 July 1976.

For a short while during 1996 the SAAF Police were under the control of the Inspector General of the SAAF, but on 1 July 1996 the SAAF Police were placed under the administrative control of Chief of Air Staff Personnel.

As part of the transformation process of the SA National Defence Force, the SA Air Force Police were transferred to the SANDF Military Police Agency on 1st April 1999. This change of command effectively meant that they ceased to function as a separate police organisation, but this in turn brought about greater opportunities and powers as their jurisdiction was now extended to all members of the SANDF and was no longer restricted to only the SAAF.

Other Squadrons based at Other:
516 Squadron, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Combined Auction Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre