Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Rotary
Status: Current
Aircraft: Oryx, Super Lynx 300

22 Squadron

"Ut Mare Liberum Sit" (That the Seas may be Free)
About this Squadron

Formed from 31 Flight as 22 (Torpedo-Bomber-Reconnaissance) Squadron in Durban on 1 July 1942, the squadron was assigned anti-submarine, coastal recce and convey escort work with the surviving ex-SAA Ju-86 and aging Anson aircraft. In August 1942 the Junkers were replaced by Venturas. In July 1944 the squadron moved from patrolling the Indian Ocean to Gibraltar to operate in the Mediterranean. In July 1945 22 Squadron was posted to Gianaclis in Egypt and in August moved to Idku where it was disbanded on 24 October 1945.

The squadron was reformed in 1954 with Venturas, but was later disbanded once more in 1958. 22 Flight was formed on 1 January 1964 at Ysterplaat to operate the newly acquired Westland Wasp and became a full squadron in May 1976. The Alouette III was added to the fleet in 1978 and the squadron continued to operate the Alouette III when the Wasp was retired in 1990, with the Puma joining the fleet when 22 Squadron was amalgamated with 30 Squadron at the end of 1991. The Puma was replaced by the Oryx in 1994.

The squadron is considered the "maritime" helicopter squadron and provides helicopters, air and ground crews for deployments aboard Navy vessels. The squadron took delivery of the Super Lynx maritime helicopters in 2007 and these are operated from the SA Navy's Meko A200SAN class frigattes.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Ysterplaat:
110 Squadron, 35 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 80 Air Navigation School

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre