Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Logistic support services
Status: Current

18 Deployment Support Unit

About this Squadron

This unit is responsible for logistic support with all the available resources to all deployment elements in the SA Air Force.

The primary role is to provide logistic support for all SA Air Force operations and deployments, within and outside the borders of the RSA. During Deployments and operations the first and foremost responsibility is to erect a temporary air base (TAB), and then ensure that all logistic functions are maintained and sustained for the duration of the deployment, including the capabiilty to provide all hospitality services ranging from accomodation and catering to aviation aids, such as aircraft refuelling requirements and landing-strip equipment.

18 DSU has the ability to sustain a deployment with equipment , including tents, bedding, kitchen/galley equipment with refrigeration, power supplies, office suplies and furniture, ablutions, rations and other commodities as required for establishing a TAB.

 Together with the above, the unit also provides a mass freight service for the SA Air Force and other interest groups in the SA National Defence Force.

The unit also renders logistic support to the Rooivalk attack helicopter during conventional warfare situations.

18 Air Depot was founded on 12 May 1987, responsible for the repair and supply of aircraft spares to Fields Aviation and certain SA Air Force units until 30 June 1996.

The deployment function was previously the responsibility of SAAF Mobilisation Unit until 1993. With the closure of Tactical Support Command and SA Air Force Mobilisation Unit the need for a unit to provide logistic support during deployments and operations was left wanting. The unit was reactivated in September 1997.

On 30 April 1999 the units' name changed to the more appropriate 18 Deployment Support Unit.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Mobile Deployment Wing:
140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 4 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Mobile Communications Unit, SAAF Band, SAAF Procurement Unit, School of Cookery

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre