Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Light transport
Status: Current

111 Squadron

"Periti Sumus"
About this Squadron

This squadron is utilised as a VIP/IP transport squadron, as well as doing recce flights in the Gauteng area. The unit is staffed by volunteer aircrew flying civilian aircraft.

Established as 111 Air Commando on 24 September 1963 to be formed at Ysterplaat, Cape Town. The unit remained dormant and was never formed under Army command.

With effect from 1 October 1968 the functional control of 111 Commando Squadron were transferred from the SA Army to the S.A.A.F. Initially, 111 Squadron was placed under the functional command of Tactical Group, with the administrative control function of the squadron being based at Light Aircraft Command at AFB Ysterplaat. During the period 1 October 1968 to 31 December 1982, the unit remained dormant, but was never officially disbanded as a unit.

111 Squadron was activated with effect from 1 January 1983, as a S.A.A.F. Commando Squadron under the command of Air Force Headquarters, and was based at AFB Swartkop in the Pretoria area.

Following the closure of AFB Swartkop as an operational S.A.A.F. base, 111 Squadron was relocated at AFB Waterkloof with effect from 1 January 1999.

During the 2000 disaster floods in Mozambique, 111 Squadron was the only S.A.A.F. Reserve Force squadron to participate in the larger rescue operations in that country.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Waterkloof:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 21 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 504 Squadron, 60 Squadron, Air Publications Service Centre, Central Photographic Institute, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, SAAF Telecommunications Centre

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre