Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Logistic support services
Status: Current

Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre

"Quarite Et Invenietes" (Seek and Ye Shall Find)
About this Squadron

To accomplish its responsibilities, JARIC has three roles to fulfill:

  • Image Intelligence - Being the only facility of its kind in the RSA, the Unit is responsible for the exploitation of imagery, from diverse imagery sources within and outside the military, with the specific purpose of producing image intelligence for the SANDF.
  • Image Intelligence Support - It is the primary supplier of imagery-based geo- spatial information to the SANDF.
  • Air Intelligence Training - It is the Unit responsible for SAAF unique Air Intelligence training, a task previously performed by SAAF College (SAAF COL), and SANDF Image Intelligence Training.

The unit was established on 1 April 1967 and was initially based at AFB Swartkop as a section of the Central Phototechnical Establishment (CPE). Unit status was attained during 1969.

During 1988 building operations started on the new JARIC building at AFB Waterkloof, which was officially opened on 26 January 1990. On the 1 January 1998 JARIC became the unit responsible for Air Intelligence and Counter Intelligence training in the SANDF, a task previously performed by SA Air Force College.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Waterkloof:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 111 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 504 Squadron, 60 Squadron, Air Publications Service Centre, Central Photographic Institute, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, SAAF Telecommunications Centre

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre