Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Training
Status: Current
Aircraft: PC-7 Mk II (Astra)

Central Flying School

"Facta Nostra Vivent" (Our Deeds Shall Live)
About this Squadron

The Central Flying School (CFS) was established at Zwartkop Air Station in 1932 to train both pupil pilots and instructors using DH-9s, Avian IVMs and Wapiti IIIs. With the outbreak of the Second World War and the consequent need for more instructors, the CFS was changed to a school for instructors only in November 1939 and moved to Kimberley. In May 1940 the School moved to Tempe Airfield, Bloemfontein, where it was renamed 62 Air School on 11 November 1940, although it was still referred to as 'CFS'. On 24 February 1945, 62 Air School was disbanded.

Reformed in 1946 at the wartime training centre at AFS Nigel (renamed Dunnottar in 1949) with Harvards, Oxfords and Tiger Moths, the Central Flying School once again trained both pupil pilots and instructors. In February 1968 the School changed its name to Flying Training School Dunnottar, but reverted back to its CFS title in January 1977.

The CFS moved to Langebaanweg in December 1991, still equipped with Harvards. After 53 years of training SAAF pilots, the venerable Harvard was finally replaced by the PC-7 Mk II Astra in November 1995.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Langebaanweg:
2 Air Servicing Unit, 526 Squadron

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre