Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Training
Status: Current

80 Air Navigation School

"Peritia Per Scientiam" (Skills Through Knowledge)
About this Squadron

After the end of WW II it was decided not to training separate navigators any more. It was felt that pilots could adequately be trained to also perform the duties of navigators. Pilots were trained to perform navigator duties at the Air Gunnery and Navigation School.

With effect from 1st August 1946 the Air Gunnery and Navigation School, redesignated Bombing, Gunnery & Air Navigational School (B.G. & A.N.S.), was moved to AFS Langebaanweg to train pilots in navigational skills. The unit was redesignated Air Operational Training School in early 1950 after it was decided that the previous name did not represent the function of the unit adequately.

The policy was changed on 1 July 1952 and the renewed training of separate navigators started on 28 July 1952. The flying required for navigational training fitted in well with the flying of 17 Squadron equipped with Venturas. It was also felt that it was important to create an independent unit to provide navigational training for the SAAF. The Navigation School, AOS, was detached and relocated to AFS Ysterplaat from January 1953. The move was completed by April 1953 and the Navigation School resumed training during this month.

The Air Navigation School was established as an autonomous unit with effect from 28 August 1953 at AFS Ysterplaat. The School took full responsibility for navigation training of PF personnel, including AF Gymnasium cadets, and ACF personnel. The school operated under the direct functional and administrative control of the Officer Commanding, 2 Group.

On 1 January 1982 80 Air Navigation School moved back to Langebaanweg, but in January 1991 it was moved back to Cape Town and was stationed at AFB Ysterplaat (DF Malan) detached. Due to the closure of the SAAF presence at Cape Town International Airport, the unit moved to AFB Ysterplaat in January 2003.

80 Air Navigational School continues to be responsible for basic navigation training and navigator instructor training. It also provides training in maritime operations, orientation for supporting aircrew members and survival training for all aircrews. The School does not operate its own aircraft, but borrows the C-47TP, Cessna Caravan and Astra as required.

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Ysterplaat:
110 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 35 Squadron, 505 Squadron

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 41 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre