Home Forum Shop Alumni

Role: Light transport
Status: Current

41 Squadron

"Detegimus Hostes" (We Find the Enemy)
About this Squadron

This squadron was formed at Waterkloof on 16 October 1940 with the Hawker Hartbees and was on the way to Abyssinia by the end of the month. Late in 1941 the Curtiss Mohawk IV was also used by the squadron. The squadron remained behind in Abyssinia in 1942 when the rest of the South African fighting forces moved into the Western Desert, but converted to Hurricanes in mid-1942. The squadron eventually arrived in the Middle East in May 1943 and flew air-defence and convoy patrol duties from North African bases. In February 1944 the squadron re-equipped with Spitfire Mk IXs and in April 1944 it provided long-range escort for raids on Crete. Detachments were also operated from Cyprus and Palestine, but the squadron was disbanded on 30 October 1944.

41 Squadron was reformed in January 1963 as the first part-time Army co-operation unit, flying Austers, later Cessna 185s, from Grand Central Aerodrome. By October 1968 the squadron was flying only the Cessna 185 when it was transferred back to the SAAF and moved to Swartkop in May 1973. In February 1974 the squadron re-equipped with the Bosbok and in July 1976 they received the Kudu. After flying the Kudu from Lanseria Airport, in late 1988 the squadron re-equipped with the Cessna Caravan and is now based at AFB Waterkloof. Later, Beech KingAirs were acquired from 21 and 35 Squadrons. A Pilatus PC-12 was acquired in July 1997.

The squadrons current tasks include all weather, day/night, internal and external capabilities in the following:

  • Routine air transport
  • Air Logistical support
  • Landward airborne operations
  • Routine air support
  • Battlefield air support

Other Squadrons based at Air Force Base Waterkloof:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 111 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 504 Squadron, 60 Squadron, Air Publications Service Centre, Central Photographic Institute, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, SAAF Telecommunications Centre

Other Current Squadrons:
1 Air Servicing Unit, 10 Air Depot, 10 Squadron, 101 Squadron, 102 Squadron, 104 Squadron, 105 Squadron, 106 Squadron, 107 Squadron, 108 Squadron, 110 Squadron, 111 Squadron, 140 Squadron, 142 Squadron, 15 Squadron, 15 Squadron - 'C' Flight, 16 Squadron, 17 Squadron, 18 Deployment Support Unit, 19 Squadron, 2 Air Servicing Unit, 2 Squadron, 21 Squadron, 22 Squadron, 28 Squadron, 3 Air Servicing Unit, 35 Squadron, 44 Squadron, 5 Air Servicing Unit, 500 Squadron, 501 Squadron, 502 Squadron, 503 Squadron, 504 Squadron, 505 Squadron, 506 Squadron, 508 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 515 Squadron, 516 Squadron, 525 Squadron, 526 Squadron, 6 Air Servicing Unit, 60 Squadron, 68 Air School, 80 Air Navigation School, 85 Combat Flying School, 87 Helicopter Flying School, 92 Tactical Airfield Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Air Publications Service Centre, Airspace Control Unit, Bushveld Airspace Control Sector, Central Flying School, Central Photographic Institute, Combined Auction Centre, Command and Control School, Electronic Warfare Centre, Ellisras Reporting Post, Joint Air Reconnaissance Intelligence Centre, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector, Mobile Communications Unit, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 43, Rapid Deployment Air Operations Team 46, SA Air Force College, SAAF Band, SAAF Museum Historic Flight, SAAF Police, SAAF Procurement Unit, SAAF Telecommunications Centre, School of Cookery, Test Flight and Development Centre