Home Forum Shop Alumni
Map of SAAF Bases

Move your mouse over each base on the map above for more info.


Images for this base:

Air Force Base Hoedspruit

"Pro Nostrorum Pace" (Peace for our People)
Status: Current
Co-ordinates: Lat: 24? 22' 0   Long: 031? 02'
View Airfield Info
Satellite View

Located near the town of Hoedspruit (on the border of the Kruger National Park, near Mozambique), this modern fighter base was opened on 1 July 1978. This base was formelly known as Fighter Town, RSA, due to the Mirage F1 and Mirage IIIs that were based there and its numerous hardened aircraft shelters.

In the late 1990s an unused portion of the base was converted into a civilian airport known as Eastgate Airport.

Squadrons at this base:
101 Squadron, 19 Squadron, 514 Squadron, 7 Air Servicing Unit, Air Force Command and Control School, Air Force Gymnasium, Lowveld Airspace Control Sector

Aircraft at this base:
A109 LUH, Oryx

Other Bases:
AFB Swartkop (now AF MDW), AFB Ysterplaat Detached (Cape Town IAP), Air Force Base Bloemspruit, Air Force Base Durban, Air Force Base Langebaanweg, Air Force Base Makhado, Air Force Base Overberg, Air Force Base Pietersburg, Air Force Base Waterkloof, Air Force Base Ysterplaat, Air Force Mobile Deployment Wing, Air Force Station Port Elizabeth, Air Force Station Thaba Tshwane, N/A, Other, SAAF Gymnasium, TEK Base