Home Forum Shop Alumni
Map of SAAF Bases

Move your mouse over each base on the map above for more info.


Images for this base:

AFB Ysterplaat Detached (Cape Town IAP)

Status: Disbanded
Co-ordinates: Lat: 33? 57' 4   Long: 018? 36'
Satellite View

Located at the north-eastern side of Cape Town International Airport and sharing the two runways, this base operated as a sub-unit of AFB Ysterplaat, housing 27 Sqn, 35 Sqn and 80 ANS. 27 Squadron was disbanded in October 1990.

Although it was announced in 2002 that the units based at AFB Ysterplaat would relocate to the existing SAAF premises at Cape Town International Airport, it was subsequently decided to move the units at AFB Ysterplaat Detached to AFB Ysterplaat and AFB Langebaanweg, with the units moving in 2003.

Squadrons at this base:
There are no squadrons listed for this base.

Aircraft at this base:
There are no aircraft listed for this base.

Other Bases:
AFB Swartkop, Air Force Base Bloemspruit, Air Force Base Durban, Air Force Base Hoedspruit, Air Force Base Langebaanweg, Air Force Base Makhado, Air Force Base Overberg, Air Force Base Pietersburg, Air Force Base Waterkloof, Air Force Base Ysterplaat, Air Force Mobile Deployment Wing, Air Force Station Port Elizabeth, Air Force Station Thaba Tshwane, N/A, Other, TEK Base, Valhalla